Busy Times and Keeping Up

Term has started and is promising no mercy, as once again life as a ref makes me super busy.

This week has generally been a pretty tough one, as I was struck down with a moderately unpleasant cold that turned my face into a fountain and had me constantly sneezing, as well as the usual asthmatic tight-chest bollocks and dizziness. It finally outdid itself on Monday night and Tuesday day by giving me the kind of headache I’d previously only had once before in my life, and I affectionately think of as a Screwdriver Headache, as it feels pretty much like someone is driving a screwdriver through my skull just above my eye. If it hadn’t been for Mr. Slee I’d have been absolutely screwed (heh), but fortunately he was able to hypnotise me into sleep while I was lying in bed in too much pain to really move.

There’s a linear on Monday to run that’s required a bit more prep than usual for VIP (and I might write more about once it’s over and so I don’t have to worry about spoilering the players (should any of them read this blog)) so I’ve been busy making props and writing up briefs for that; additionally BSH‘s Lullaby Pass has character writing deadlines to sort out everyone’s skills and flopings before the meeting tonight. Between this, Mr Slee’s parents being up last week, illness and general January madness, my own writing has been less than great.

Most irritatingly, it’s meant I didn’t actually write out 10 character backgrounds in my 10 days. I did some good plot planning and structure-poking, although I’d still like to do more on that front, and I wrote up some of the characters (and learned some really cool stuff about a few as they told me their histories). While I didn’t actually hit my goal for 4th-14th, I don’t feel like it was because of laziness or a lack of dedication, so I’m sort of okay with it.

It does, however, mean that I’m super keen to meet the 24th’s deadline of 100,000 words, and I’m not exactly on target. I’m not really expecting to catch up until Tuesday, either, what with VIP on Monday night. At some point today I need to do All Of The Washing Up and a fair bit of tidying before the ref meeting occurs, as well as go out and get some more loo roll and various other household/carerly duties. I’d like to think I’ll be able to do some writing too, but on 3 hours sleep I also have to consider that a nap might just be necessary in order to avoid having a seizure. Maybe a few hundred words.

Mind you, even if I reach Tuesday and am still only at just over 90k, I reckon I can hit 100k before the end of Friday. *determined*

Oh yeah, and I need to write stories for my two nieces as birthday presents (preferably before the 21st, but certainly before the end of January). Just in case that lot alone wasn’t enough.

I love/hate being this busy. I love all my projects, but it does mean I wish I had slightly more stable health!

Leave a Reply

